The Split Screen Van Club
You are viewing the Split Screen Van Club forum archive.
The forum archive is read-only.

Unfortunately in 2021 the Split Screen Van Club forum suffered a ransomware attack and lots of the forum data was lost.
What threads that have been recovered are now searchable on this site. Some threads may be incomplete and some images are still being recovered.

Forum archive search

Forum Archive > VW Related Chat

Collecting my first splitty - what should I check for?

Collecting my first splitty - what should I check for?

by Cornwall1986 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:07 am
Hi all!

I am completely new to the splitty scene (well new to VWs altogether actually!). I have always loved split screens and decided to finally go for it. The family are very excited :D

Anyway, I have won an 11 window 1965 on Ebay and I am hoping to collect on Friday. I have a long way to go for this so I will be having to go on my own. Is there a checklist somewhere for the key things to check for?

The bus had a rebuild in 2016 so I don't expect there to be any problems but obviously worth checking just in case.

Many thanks!

Mark
Cornwall1986
SSVC Member

Re: Collecting my first splitty - what should I check for?

by Dougie » Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:44 am
Nearest I can find is this one for a bay window, later splits and early bays would suffer very similar issues so the basics are covered. http://www.vwcamperguide.com/html/bay_w ... guide.html
Just remember you are buying a car that is 53 years old. It won't steer, brake or accelerate like a modern car. It will be noisy and the gearchange will be a whole new experience for you.
You will however be buying a car that will make you grin every time you get in it, strangers will talk to you at petrol stations, people take your photo as you sit waiting at traffic lights or as they overtake you on the motorway. Get used to sitting at 60mph and wondering what the hurry is as everything else rushes ahead.