The Split Screen Van Club
You are viewing the Split Screen Van Club forum archive.
The forum archive is read-only.

Unfortunately in 2021 the Split Screen Van Club forum suffered a ransomware attack and lots of the forum data was lost.
What threads that have been recovered are now searchable on this site. Some threads may be incomplete and some images are still being recovered.

Forum archive search

Forum Archive > Technical

New Ownership and a few questions

New Ownership and a few questions

by James13009 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:39 pm
Hello I am new to VW Splitscreen ownership.

Hello all! :cheers:

Currently the van isn’t running which I am looking to sort. But I have lots of questions that I could do with answering.

I’ll start with the specification:
• 1776 engine
• Twin Carb Weber IDF44
• 009 Distributor (0231 178 009)?
• Coil – Flame Thrower –3 ohm
• 12v system

1)
The engine isn’t starting currently, and with the ignition on and the engine not a TDC it reads 12v on both the coil terminals. I think the coil is faulty. No spark from the ignition coil when tested with a spark plug. Does this sound right?

2)
On replacing the coil, I currently have the 3 ohm flame thrower coil. I wish to upgrade very soonish to the 123 ignition tune+ system (Recommendations on best place to buy would also be helpful). Given the change what would be the best coil to go for?

(I don’t actually understand the difference between selecting a 3ohm or 0.6ohm coil as they are advertised)

3)
My fuel cap doesn’t have a seal inside, I am looking too buy one a 60mm cork one. Does this look right?

4)
I have a 6 volt fuel gauge. I read if match my fuel gauge to the fuel sender I can get it too work.
I have a 12v system – but it isn’t clear what the fuel sender voltage is? Any idea’s of the best way forward?

5) I’m quite concerned about this brake line being the lowest part on the bus. (I want to change to CE rack) Any thoughts on this?
James13009

Re: New Ownership and a few questions