The Split Screen Van Club
You are viewing the Split Screen Van Club forum archive.
The forum archive is read-only.

Unfortunately in 2021 the Split Screen Van Club forum suffered a ransomware attack and lots of the forum data was lost.
What threads that have been recovered are now searchable on this site. Some threads may be incomplete and some images are still being recovered.

Forum archive search

Forum Archive > Rides and Projects

Mikes 30HP rebuild thread

Mikes 30HP rebuild thread

by Mike1973 » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:54 pm
Right, thought this was the best place to stick this thread. From the start let me say I am an engine building novice! So ALL advice, no matter how obvious you think it may be, is appreciated. My experience to date has been a 1500 build way back in '95. I've since forgotten nearly everything I learned back then so I'm starting from scratch here.
I'm hoping to find out what things I can do myself, what things need to be done by experts, good reference material, right tools for the job, how to tell if parts are worn out, best place for parts....

Right, first step, try and work out what went wrong with the motor!
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=47509&hilit=heart" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Engine was running OK, but had endfloat and used oil. It did 30mpg on good days, and was statically timed to 7.5tdc using a test light off the coil. Regularly did long motorway runs at 50mph, sometimes more. (shouldn't really go over 48mph)
Lost power suddenly on the way back from the Brighton Breeze, pulled over a couple of miles later and conked out on hard shoulder.

Quick compression test while stripping down showed no compression in No1 cylinder...

Engine is now on the workbench while I strip it down, and when I get a chance I'm going to post sources and prices for all the bits I thnk I'll need. And a decent torque wrench is on my Christmas list....
Mike1973
SSVC Member

Re: Mikes 30HP rebuild thread

by andy f » Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:32 pm