The Split Screen Van Club
You are viewing the Split Screen Van Club forum archive.
The forum archive is read-only.

Unfortunately in 2021 the Split Screen Van Club forum suffered a ransomware attack and lots of the forum data was lost.
What threads that have been recovered are now searchable on this site. Some threads may be incomplete and some images are still being recovered.

Forum archive search

Forum Archive > Rides and Projects

Fleetline Hightop

Fleetline Hightop

by Ed Toogood » Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:53 am
In March this year it was clear that my van was going to fail the MOT due to a rusty inner sill, so I took the decision to get the rest of the bodywork done at the same time. Here are a few picture before anything was done. She wasn't bad, but there were a few areas, particularly lower few inches and guttering that needed some TLC.

I hope the pic upload works as it's my first time 8O

Ed Toogood

Re: Fleetline Hightop

by Ed Toogood » Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:07 pm
Due to a lifetime spent as a minibus in South Africa it's probably no wonder there was a fair amount of filler to be worked through:

The cab doors were bubbling up at the bottom
Ed Toogood

by Ed Toogood » Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:15 pm
Fortunately as more of the paint and filler was worked through it became clear that the bodywork underneath was much more rust free than we had first thought. The layers of filler had caused the paintwork to bubble, which looked like there may be rust underneath. As you can see there is loads of good metal :D

This corner is perfect :)

Not too much needed here either

A new lower front section needed. I intend to make up a spear based tale about the hole to the left of the badge (third pic down)...
Ed Toogood

by Ed Toogood » Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:46 pm
A few moe pics as the cutting gets started.

Ed Toogood

by Ed Toogood » Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:48 pm