The Split Screen Van Club
You are viewing the Split Screen Van Club forum archive.
The forum archive is read-only.

Unfortunately in 2021 the Split Screen Van Club forum suffered a ransomware attack and lots of the forum data was lost.
What threads that have been recovered are now searchable on this site. Some threads may be incomplete and some images are still being recovered.

Forum archive search

Forum Archive > Rides and Projects

65 13w deluxe 'Project Franklin'

65 13w deluxe 'Project Franklin'

by pauldee » Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:48 pm
So I know some of you have been eager to see how I'm getting on, so here it is! A couple of slight delays from a bit global travel and then quickly having to more premises, but here we are!

This is my first project, and I'm a total newb. Seriously, I'm learning as I go along, so this means a lot of researching of pretty much everything I do, lots of questions, and lots of slowly picking things apart to see how they fit together etc.

So this is how it started:

Doesn't look too bad from the outside, but the chassis clearly needs a lot of work:

Generally, the bottom 6 inches needs a lot of sorting, but other than that, everything is in pretty good shape. A bit of pitting on the roof around the gutters but no holes. No serious rust around the windows, pillars and posts all clean.

There are a couple of issues though. As you can see, it's had a knock to the front, and this has very slightly bent the left A-post - not that obvious from a distance, but up close it's evident. I'm not sure yet how much of a problem this is going to be.

And I've no idea what's been going on here:

If you can't make it out, it looks like someone's taken a hammer to the frames between the windows. No idea why, just plain vandalism. No one currently makes this panel and I've been struggling to find cuts, so not sure what I'm going to do about this but I'll think of something.